New Editors-in-Chief for EPJ D

December 31st, 2014 marked the end of the terms of appointment of two of the Editors-in-Chief for EPJD, Professor Kurt Becker (New York University, USA) and Professor Nigel Mason (Open University, UK). Profs Becker and Mason have served as Editors-in-Chief since 2009, representing the fields of plasma physics and atomic and molecular physics respectively. Under their leadership the journal has seen substantial growth and development across a broad range of topical areas, with special issues published in diverse fields including microplasmas, electron-positron collision physics, cluster physics and radiation biodamage. The publishers would like to express their sincere appreciation to Kurt and Nigel for their service to the journal and the wider community as Editors-in-Chief over the past five years.

We are delighted to announce the appointment of their successors, starting from 1st January 2015.

Andrey Solov’yov
Professor Andrey Solov’yov (MBN Research Center, Frankfurt, Germany) is appointed as Editor-in-Chief with responsibility for the journal’s coverage of atomic and molecular physics. Prof Solov’yov is Scientific Director of the MBN Research Center in Frankfurt am Main in Germany, was previously head of the Meso-Bio-Nano Science group at the FIAS, and is a Leading Research Fellow at the A.F. Ioffe Physical-Technical Institute, St.Petersburg and a full professor in physics at St Petersburg State Polytechnical University in Russia. He has been an active member of the Editorial Board since 2006, and in recent years has been involved with a number of Topical Issues including the nano-IBCT series.

Andrey Solov’yov
Professor Holger Kersten (Kiel University, Germany) replaces Kurt Becker as Editor-in-Chief responsible for the plasmas section of the journal. Dr Kersten was appointed Professor at the Institute of Experimental and Applied Physics at Kiel University in 2006, having previously been head of the plasma processes group at the INP in Greifswald. The focus of his research includes basic studies on the interaction of plasmas with surfaces, complex plasmas and their applications in plasma technology. In 1999, he received the Osthoff Plasma Physics Prize in recognition of his research. He has been an Editorial Board member since 2010, and more recently has also served as Colloquia and Reviews Editor for plasmas.

Completing the team, Professor Vladimir Buzek is halfway through his term as Editor-in-Chief, and continues in this role with responsibility for the journal’s coverage of quantum optics and quantum information.

We wish the new Editors-in-Chief every success in their roles and look forward to working with them and the Editorial Board through 2015 and beyond.

This was our first experience of publishing with EPJ Web of Conferences. We contacted the publisher in the middle of September, just one month prior to the Conference, but everything went through smoothly. We have had published MNPS Proceedings with different publishers in the past, and would like to tell that the EPJ Web of Conferences team was probably the best, very quick, helpful and interactive. Typically, we were getting responses from EPJ Web of Conferences team within less than an hour and have had help at every production stage.
We are very thankful to Solange Guenot, Web of Conferences Publishing Editor, and Isabelle Houlbert, Web of Conferences Production Editor, for their support. These ladies are top-level professionals, who made a great contribution to the success of this issue. We are fully satisfied with the publication of the Conference Proceedings and are looking forward to further cooperation. The publication was very fast, easy and of high quality. My colleagues and I strongly recommend EPJ Web of Conferences to anyone, who is interested in quick high-quality publication of conference proceedings.

On behalf of the Organizing and Program Committees and Editorial Team of MNPS-2019, Dr. Alexey B. Nadykto, Moscow State Technological University “STANKIN”, Moscow, Russia. EPJ Web of Conferences vol. 224 (2019)

ISSN: 2100-014X (Electronic Edition)

© EDP Sciences